Elayne Riggs' Journal (for Leah)

Saturday, January 15, 2005

Worthy Commentary

Last week I got wind of a blogger named Michele Agnew who came up with a unique and participatory fundraising strategy - for every comment she received to her blog within a 24-hour period, she promised to donate a dollar to Oxfam International's humanitarian efforts to help victims of the Asian tsunami disaster. Alas, by the time I found out about this the thread had already closed. But John Quiggin has now taken up the mantle, at first promising to donate $1 Australian for every comment he receives by midnight Sunday (that's 1:00 PM Greenwich Mean Time, 8:00 AM US Eastern time, 7:00 AM Central, etc.), then raising that amount with the help of sponsors to $3.45 A per commenter. Go to his thread now and leave a message! (Thanks to Tim Dunlop for the tip...)